While fraud is prevalent online, it tends to be focused on companies that derive their business from online purchases. As Monster is primarily a free service, and the contact information found in a resume can just as easily be located elsewhere (e.g. telephone listings), you can be assured that posting your resume on Monster is a safe way to conduct a job search and manage your career. However, you do need to be mindful about the type of information you include on your resume. For example, the following personal information should never be included:
- Social Insurance Number
- Driver's license number
- Bank account information
- Credit card information
- Date of birth
Note: You should also never share the personal information listed above with a prospective employer until you are confident that the employer and employment opportunity is legitimate.
Posting Your Resume
Do you want employers to find your resume on Monster? Are you currently employed and need to be more careful about who is able to see your posted resume? Not all job searches are alike, so Monster allows flexibility in how you post your resume. Your resume options are described below:
Choosing the public (searchable) resume option allows employers to find your resume during resume searches. Because employers may search for candidates before they post a job on Monster, choosing the public option will give you the widest possible access to job opportunities. Public resumes are viewable by employers — not other Monster members.
Prefer to keep your job search more private? You can save your resume as public, but hide your contact info, current company and references. Employers will be able to contact you via a confidential Monster email address. You can then view the job listing and decide whether to respond. Please note that if you apply online with your posted resume, the information you've marked as confidential will be included so the employer can contact you.
Important: If you choose to hide your contact information, current company and references, you must ALSO remove this information from your uploaded Word resume or Copy & Paste text resume.
Note: If you are concerned that an employer may find your resume before you enable Privacy Plus, you can set your resume to private when you post it, and then change the status to public after you select companies to block.
Choosing the private (non-searchable) resume option will prevent employers from finding your resume on Monster during resume searches. However, you can still search for jobs and apply online using your private resume.